Эффективная защита в области уголовного права

On September 1 the winners of the Russian national contest of university professors ‘Golden Names of the Higher School’ were revealed. Yury Garmaev, Criminal Defense Firm Counsel, won a ‘Contribution to Science and Higher Education’ nomination. 

The contest has been held since 2017 within a cognominal project of a transregional nonprofit organization ‘Higher School Professors League’ with support from The Ministry of Education and Presidential Grants Foundation. Over 5 000 people have participated in this contest for five years. 

The selection was carried out among professors who achieved high results in education, science, social and educational activities. In 2022, almost 1 100 professors from eight federal districts of Russia sent applications for participation. The Organizing Committee evaluated them according to a number of criteria and determined 150 winners in ten main and one special nomination.

Yury is the director of Laboratory of Comparative Law in the Asia-Pacific Region, Professor of Criminal Procedure and Criminalistics Department, and a Doctor of Law. He is a winner of Presidential grants, a member of Expert Advisory Board of the Federation Council’s Committee for Constitutional Legislation and State Building, and author of over 500 publications. 14 candidate and two doctoral theses were defended under Yury Garmaev’s academic advisership. He is recommended by the international ranking Best Lawyers 2022 in Criminal Law in Russia and is one of the recommended lawyers in Pravo-300 rating.

The research conducted by Professor Garmaev as part of grant activities allowed to develop and implement an innovative methodology for teaching legal disciplines, i.e., the development of necessary competencies for future professional activities through building a personal professional strategy of students and involving them in active efforts related to legal education of the general population.

CDF team congratulates Yury Garmaev upon his win and wish him further success in scientific activities and work with students!

Follow the link to see the full list of winners.